The One Year Project

A Personal Experiment in Deadline Transition

Weight Loss: Week 5 and Week 6

with 5 comments

No, I’m not dead.  No, I haven’t given up!

It’s been a couple weeks since I’ve posted.  I apologize!  I’ll try not to make a habit of it.  So, down to business!

Week 5

Photo by whyld

Photo by whyld

But Friday morning came and I picked up like I had never stopped.  I jumped straight into some weight training and made sure to make a trip to the grocery store.  I was more than happy to see that, by the time Sunday rolled around, I only gained one pound that week.  Feeling as fat and awful as I did, I was sure I had gained nine pounds.  Not so!  This encouraged me so much more for Week 6.

Week 6 – Down 2lbs!

Week 6 ended today and I dropped from 243 to 241.  This week has involved quite a few changes.

I had finished reading The Abs Diet at the end of week 5 and decided to put its principles to work.  Monday, Wednesday, and Friday I did strength training.  I only did cardio once or twice this week because the Abs Diet doesn’t emphasize cardio so much.  However, while I realize I’d probably keep losing weight just eating healthy and lifting weights, in Week 7 I’ll be bumping cardio up to 6 days a week.  Having lost two pounds this week with just strength training, I see no reason why that number couldn’t be 3 – 5 pounds per week.

This week I also expanded my food options (restriction = bad + destined for failure).  I’ve bought whole grain breads and cereals, skim milk, eggs, more turkey burger (which I love), string cheese and ketchup (which makes me love the burgers more).  My one real problem was with Caffeine-Free Diet Pepsi.  For some reason it seems to make my weight loss stall (I’ve observed the same results twice.)  I’m staying away from that from now on.

For the first time ever I have bought some kind of health supplement.  I picked up a 2lb tub of Whey Protein yesterday morning in preparation for this week.  I’ve had a couple cups of milk with it and made a smoothie, but I’m really wanting to try it out post-workout and see if it amplifies my results.

I’m really looking forward to Week 7!  Wow, Week 7.  Kinda hard to believe it’s almost been two months since I started and I’m 14lbs down.  While I’m happy with my progress, I do believe that if I take it a bit more seriously and stay determined not to fail on any week that I can up my weight loss rate.

So here’s to Week 7!  I think I’ll set the goal of 5 pounds for this week.  This time next week I hope to be 5 pounds lighter.

Written by J. Bentley

January 25, 2009 at 11:29 pm

Posted in Losing Weight

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. go derek!

    Markeetoo

    January 26, 2009 at 7:32 am

  2. You are doing, great! Keep it up 😉

    Turkey burger recipe:
    1lb of ground turkey
    Chili powder
    1/2 of a medium to small onion (vidalias are great)
    1 green, red or yellow pepper
    Extra virgin olive oil
    salt
    black pepper
    Mexican seasoning

    Dice onion and pepper
    Mix turkey, 3 pinches of salt, 3 pinches of black pepper a healthy dose of Mexican seasoning and chili powder, 1 tsp of extra virgin olive oil and diced onion and pepper in a big bowl.

    Make patties from a ball of mixed turkey about the size of a the palm of your hand. 1lb of meat should yield approx. 6 patties.

    Cook either in a pan or on a grill.

    Really great in the morning with an egg on top!

    Despite lack of time, one of the best ways I have learned to eat healthier is to cook from scratch. You then become aware of everything you ingest.

    Anyway…just thought I’d share.

    Matt Wilson

    January 26, 2009 at 1:44 pm

  3. This is a GREAT recipe. I remember asking around just the other day if there was some way to make a burger with chili powder. It sounded like a great idea to me but I hadn’t found one online and no one I talked to knew of one.

    Glad you shared it!

    J. Bentley

    January 26, 2009 at 10:41 pm

  4. that sounds awesome, you’re doing a great job.

    carla

    January 27, 2009 at 12:34 am

  5. Hey J, sounds like you are doing well. Keep up the work and the pounds will continue to drop!

    Kevin

    January 28, 2009 at 11:04 pm


Leave a Reply

