The One Year Project

A Personal Experiment in Deadline Transition

Weight Loss – Week 4: One Month Later and 13 Pounds Lighter!

with one comment

Photo by justabiggeek

Photo by justabiggeek

This has been a fairly awful week.  I’ve been sick since Monday.  Headaches and backaches and, more terrible than anything, coughing!  I’ve felt completely and totally healthy except for these nasty sounding coughs that have lasted since about Tuesday.

There were a couple days this week I didn’t exercise.  I just didn’t feel well enough.  For anyone following my calories, you might have noticed I stopped tracking.  For good reason!  I haven’t felt like eating much since I’ve gotten sick.  It’s mostly been apples and milk and occasionally vegetables.

But, at the end of the week, here I am at 242lbs! Four pounds down this week!  I can’t wait to get in the 230s.  I really can’t wait to get to 225.

In November of 2007, a job at the hospital that involved lots of running and walking and a brief session of Nutrisystem had gotten me down to my all time low of 225.  So, right now weight loss doesn’t feel as good as it could.  I feel like I’m just relosing weight I should have kept off.  This is weight I’ve probably lost 3 times before.

When I get down to 225, then every pound I lose will feel awesome.  I can imagine saying every week, “222! I’ve never weighed 222 before!”… “218! I’ve never weighed 218 before!”… “215! I’ve never weighed 215 before!”  So I’m really looking forward to that number.

In my laying-around-and-doing-nothingness I was able to finish reading the Abs Diet.  The eating plan isn’t too different from what I’m doing, so I wasn’t really concerned with that.  What really drew me to it was the workout program.  It’s the kind of program that will build muscle and help me lose weight while I’m *not* exercising, which is really important.

I’ll start on that tomorrow morning!  Monday, Wednesday and Friday I’ll do strength exercises.  Tuesday and Thursday some light cardio (maybe 30 minutes).  I might do the cardio Monday, Wednesday and Friday, too.  It depends on how it works out the first week.  If I’m happy with the results at just Tuesday and Thursday, I’ll leave it.

I’ll post quite a bit more in the next week than I did this week.  I’ve just been too sick to care about posting.

So, on to week 5!  And I’m happy to say that because as I think I’ve said before, my health kicks have only ever made it to week 4.  Once week 5 is completed and successful it really represents a new chapter in my life!

Written by J. Bentley

January 11, 2009 at 1:02 pm

Posted in Losing Weight

Tagged with , ,

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Here’s on to WEEK 5.

    Be diligent!

    Congrats on your success thus far!

    Heather

    January 17, 2009 at 1:11 pm


Leave a Reply

